PDA

View Full Version : AMD info

Grimmy
10-16-2002, 07:04 AM
Ok guys, I am not good at this, but I want to build one so bad. What I am looking for, becuase I don't know anything about this, AMD top processor. In another post, I think one of Hammer's, he said something about the AMDD 3000+. Is that out? I look on what I thought was AMD's site, and they only had the 2700 & 2800. I was impressed with the benchmarks it had. I looked for the mobo they using and then I saw a litte note saying that it wasn't available. This is what they are running for a mobo:

Asus A7N8X nForce2 Motherboard
Epox 8K3A+ KT333 Motherboard

But I don't know where to buy. I would like to buy a combo, that way they have a warrenty if they put the processor in, stuff like that.

As for a case, a kewl one. I seem some with lights in the side and fans there too. Can you order them like that??

As for RAM, plan on running a gig. HD, not sure, what brands are good? Would like atleast 1 100 giger, maybe 2.

Vid card? ATI Radeon (sorry can spellskejr) 9700 or a nVidia?

Once I get the tower built, I will look at monitors. Would melt on a 20 some incher flat panel :mrgreen: but I can't fork out that much for a monitor.

Also, I will be running XP pro. I am looking for a DVD/CR burner. They are becoming more reasonable now, and maybe just a 48-52 ROM in the other bay.

Let me know what you think of this. I would like the AMD 3000 proc if it is out. If you have links for some of this stuff, please let me know.

O before I forget, I talked to a guy about a dual proc, and he said that I wouldn't really see a difference in it, becuase the game/program has to be able to support a dual proc. Also, those are way more expensive.

Thanks for ya time and look forward to hearing your thoughts! 8)

OUTLAWS The Machine
10-16-2002, 10:36 AM