PDA

View Full Version : Lag Lag Lag

Frag Junky
02-28-2003, 07:22 AM
I'm sure this topic has been picked apart by the best. I imagine the thread is so old it is rotten. So I’m a Newbie, big deal, we all got to start somewhere. Besides, I’m tired of getting my A$$ SHOT OFF by you because I can’t move. :bawling:

Other then the biggest and best PC and a T1, I can see no way too reduce Lag. Been Playing SS 1&2 since they were released, but I have only been fraggin for two months, and the concept of Lag is still new to me.

Step 1: I just sold one of my trucks, and I got money to burn on a new game player :jammin: . Here’s the list. I know it is not top of the line, but it’s better then I got.

Asus Motherboard for Intel P4 478 400mhz Retail w/ 4CH Audio
Intel Celeron (Pentium 4 based) 1.7GHz 128K 400MHz
DDR 512MB 333MHz RAM
GeForce 3 Ti200 128MB

Step 2: If I could get a T1, I would, but the wife would kill me. She can’t see spending money on a game Go Figure?. So I settled for a DSL 256. My boy wants to split the cost and go with a DSL 512, She may go for that. I would. Just kidding, she don't mind as long as I wear my headphones after midnight. :P

Without someone hitting the nail on the head as to what causes Lag, That is the best I can do, Any Ideas beyond this.

Goober
02-28-2003, 12:40 PM
The system you describe sounds pretty good, although most would shy away from the celeron and go with an AMD (It will need more cooling though). You need to set your sites higher on the video card. This is what makes the game. The minimum I would suggest is a Gforce 4 Ti 4200, if you have the money a ATI all in wonder 9700 Pro.
Also, the better upload speed on your internet connection, the better your game.

That was my 2 cents worth, you might want to post in the hardware section for better answers.

Frag Junky
03-01-2003, 05:23 AM